you're reading...
Uncategorized

How to create my Pixlr Assignment: “Europe Under Siege”

To create map background:

This project is a map of Europe the way my roommate and I will see it this summer. We will be traveling through as much of the western part of the continent that our three-to-four week trip will allow time for. Our trip will even peak into Eastern Europe during our visit to Prague. This map uses one of Pixlr’s newest filters, Nightvision, in an attempt to show the nightlife we hope to experience and engage in on our journey across the continent.

I began with an image of a map of Europe circa 1800. Under the layer Tab I selected “Open Image As Layer”. Under edit, I used the “Free Transform” tool to drag the image to fit the 2550×3300 pixel canvas.; I also selected rotate canvas 90 degrees so I had a horizontal space to work with. It was here that I applied the Nightvision filter after playing around with each of the many image filters Pixlr has. I added some “Noise” to the filter because I felt the image appeared too clean without it. And of course, we will be seeing Europe through slightly hazy vision as we intend of stopping at every pub we come across.

The next step was to add the “Let the  Madness Begin” stamp in the corner.

The globe and the lettering came from three separate images; the globe was one, “Let the Begin” and the word “Madness”. I wanted the word “Madness” to stand out from the other words so I found a separate image.

The image originally had a basketball under the words which I got rid of using the magic wand and eraser tools. Then it was simply a matter of dragging the words over the globe. I set the contrast of the words so that they would stand out against the globe.

I removed the thumbtacks from their original image using the Marquee tool and deleting the excess using both the wand and eraser tools. I used free transform to adjust it to a suitable size and placed the tacks in the various destinations of our trip. Using copy and paste I created a new layer for each thumbtack so I could move it to its respective location without moving the previous tack at the same time.

In order for the lines to appear under the tacks I had to create them on their own layer and simply drag that layer to the bottom of the project in the layers toolbar. For curved lines, representing flights, I used the circular selection under the drawing tool and erased the part of the circle I didn’t need. For the straight lines I dragged the curser between destinations and used a size 3 line for both straight and curved lines.

When creating curved lines I had to create a new layer in order to move them around without moving the other paths that I had drawn.

About mccullough88

Finally graduating from Cal Poly this Spring! Follow me @mccullough88

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

J Logo

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

My Flickr Photos

Follow Me On Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

